The Sunday Times Charlotte Aitken Young Writer of the Year Award

  • Ongoing

Founded in 1991, the award recognises the best literary work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish writer of 35 and under. £10,000 is given to the winner, and £1,000 to each of the runners-up. The award was suspended in 2008, but was revitalised in 2015 with the help of the literary agency Peters Fraser & Dunlop, building on the remarkable legacy of the prize by introducing two significant and exciting innovations: extending its reach by including writers from Ireland and including self-published works as well as those from publishers – putting the prize in tune with the changing landscape of British publishing. In 2017 the prize secured two further partnerships with the University of Warwick and the British Council. In 2019, after two years as associate sponsor, the University of Warwick assumed the title partnership of the prize. As of June 2021, the prize is sponsored by the Charlotte Aitken Trust.

The British Council is the international partner of the prize, opening doors for the shortlisted authors abroad. 

Related blog posts:

See all blog posts