Ronda Armitage

  • New Zealand
  • Miles Stott Children's Literary Agency


Ronda Armitage was born in New Zealand.

She is the author of many books for children, including the well-loved Lighthouse Keeper series of stories, which tell of the adventures of Mr. and Mrs. Grinling and their marmalade cat, Hamish. Most of her books are illustrated by her husband, David, who is an artist. She was a primary school teacher for several years, and is a trained counsellor, specialising in family therapy.

The Lighthouse Keepers's Lunch (1977) was her first published book and won the 1978 Esther Glen Award. Her latest books are A Very Strange Creature (2009), and The Lighthouse Keeper's Surprise (2009).

Ronda Armitage also writes non-fiction books as part of her family therapy work.


Small Knight and George and the Pirates
Wave the Flag and Blow the Whistle
A Very Strange Creature
The Lighthouse Keeper's Surprise
The Bungle Jungle Bedtime Kiss
Small Knight and George and the Royal Chocolate Cake
Small Knight and George
A New Home for Pirate
The Lighthouse Keeper's New Friend
Violence in Society
The Lighthouse Keeper's Christmas
The Lighthouse Keeper's Tea
The Lighthouse Keeper's Breakfast
Queen of the Night
Family Violence
The Lighthouse Keeper's Favourite Stories
The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat
The Lighthouse Keeper's Picnic
A Quarrel of Koalas
Looking after Chocolates
Watch the Baby, Daisy
When Dad did the Washing Up
The Lighthouse Keeper's Rescue
New Zealand
The Lighthouse Keeper's Catastrophe
Grandma goes Shopping
One Moonlit Night
Ice Creams for Rosie
The Birthday Spell
The Bossing of Josie
Don't Forget Matilda!
The Trouble with Mr. Harris
The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch


Coventry Inspiration Book Awards
Esther Glen Award (New Zealand)