• ©
  • Roderick Field


Miranda Carter, biographer, was educated at St. Paul's Girls' School and Exeter College, Oxford. She worked as a publisher and journalist before beginning research on her biography of Anthony Blunt in 1994.

She lives in London with her husband and two sons. Anthony Blunt: His lives (2001), her first book, won the Royal Society of Literature Award and the Orwell Prize, and was shortlisted for many other prizes, including the Guardian First Book Award and the Whitbread Biography Award. In the US it was chosen by the New York Times Book Review as one of the seven best books of 2002. 

Miranda Carter's latest book is The Infidel Stain (2015), the second book featuring the detectives Blake and Avery. The first of this series The Strangler Vine (2014) was longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction and was a finalist for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award. She is currently working on a third title in this series. 


The Infidel Stain
The Strangler Vine
The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One
Anthony Blunt: His Lives


Los Angeles Times Book Prize (Biography)
Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for Non-Fiction
Duff Cooper Prize
James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for biography)
Orwell Prize
The Royal Society of Literature Award
Whitbread Biography Award
Guardian First Book Award

Related links: