Brian McCabe

  • Edinburgh, Scotland


Born in a small mining community near Edinburgh, Brian McCabe has been a freelance writer since 1980. He studied philosophy and English literature at Edinburgh University, where he was recently Writer in Residence. He has had various residencies and fellowships, including the William Soutar Fellowship in Perth. His books have won several Scottish Arts Council book awards, and he won the Canongate Prize in 2000. He is currently editor ofEdinburgh Review.

Brian McCabe is the award-winning author of four collections of poetry: Spring's Witch (1984); One Atom to Another (1987); Body Parts (1999); and Zero (2009). He also writes fiction and has published four short story collections; The Lipstick Circus (1990); In a Dark Room with a Stranger (1995); A Date with my Wife (2001); Selected Stories (2004) and two novels, including The Other McCoy (2012). 

He lives in Edinburgh. 


Selected Stories
A Date with my Wife
Body Parts
Not Donald MacDonald
In a Dark Room with a Stranger
The Other McCoy
One Atom to Another
The Lipstick Circus
Spring's Witch
Goodbye Schooltie


Canongate Prize