Adam Marek

  • Janklow & Nesbit (UK) Ltd


Adam Marek is an award-winning short story writer. He won the 2011 Arts Foundation Short Story Fellowship, and was shortlisted for the inaugural Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award and the Edge Hill Short Story Prize.

His stories have appeared on BBC Radio 4, and in many magazines and anthologies, including Prospect and The Sunday Times Magazine, and The Penguin Book of the British Short StoryHis short story collections The Stone Thrower (2007) and Instruction Manual for Swallowing (2012) are published in the UK by Comma Press, and in North America by ECW Press.

He teaches Creative Writing for the Arvon Foundation and WordFactory and has spoken about his work at literary festivals both at home and overseas, including Small Wonder short story festival in Charleston, The Bookworm Literary Festival in Beijing, The Oxford Literary Festival, The Festival of the European Short Story in Croatia and Kikinda Short Festival in Serbia. 


The Stone Thrower
Instruction Manual for Swallowing


Arts Foundation Short Story Fellowship