Announcing our partnership with the Sunday Times/Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award

British Council is delighted to be international partner of the Sunday Times/Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award, in association with the University of Warwick

British Council is delighted to be working with the Sunday Times/Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award, in association with the University of Warwick. The £5,000 prize is awarded for a full-length published or self-published (in book or ebook formats) work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, by an author of 35 years or under. There are three prizes of £500 each for runners-up. British Council in the UK and Ireland are delighted through our partnership with the prize to be supporting young writers in exploring international opportunities that will inspire them for the rest of their careers.


The award-winning novelist and political commentator Elif Shafak and the acclaimed cultural historian and biographer Lucy Hughes-Hallett join Andrew Holgate, literary editor of the Sunday Times, to judge the 2017 award. The prize rewards the best work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish author aged between 18 and 35.

Having rewarded two exceptional writers of their generation in the two years since its return in 2015 – the debut poet Sarah Howe for her first collection, Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus), and Max Porter for his genre-bending debut Grief Is the Thing With Feathers (Faber & Faber) – the prize has established itself as a widely regarded source for identifying the best young writing talent. Looking further back, previous winners include: Ross RaisinGod’s Own Country (2009); Adam FouldsThe Truth About These Strange Times (2008); Naomi AldermanDisobedience (2007), Robert MacfarlaneMountains of the Mind: a History of a Fascination (2004); William FiennesThe Snow Geese (2003); Zadie SmithWhite Teeth (2001); Sarah WatersAffinity (2000); Paul FarleyThe Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You (1999); Patrick FrenchLiberty or Death: India’s Journey to Independence and Division (1998); Francis SpuffordI May Be Some Time: Ice and the English Imagination (1997); Katherine PierpointTruffle Beds (1996); Andrew CowanPig (1995); William Dalrymple, City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi (1994); Simon ArmitageKid (1993); Caryl PhillipsCambridge (1992); and Helen SimpsonFour Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories (1991).


The shortlisted authors were announced on 29 October and are below. The winner will be announced on 7 December.

Outlandish Knight – The Byzantine Life of Steven Runciman by Minoo Dinshaw (Allen Lane)

The End of the Day by Claire North (Orbit)

The Lucky Ones by Julianne Pachico (Faber & Faber)

Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney (Faber & Faber)

The Lauras by Sara Taylor (Windmill)

The shortlisted authors will appear at a public event at Waterstones Trafalgar Square, The Grand Building, Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5EJ, on Tuesday, 28 November.

Find out more

SUnday Times PFD Prize award logo


Related writers

Minoo Dinshaw author pic

Minoo Dinshaw is a writer living in London. He is the son of award-winning author Candia McWilliam a...

Howe Sarah c. Hayley Madden bw

Sarah Howe was born in Hong Kong in 1983 and moved to England as a child. Sarah was a Poetry Society...


Claire North photo credit Siobhan Watts edit

Claire North is the pen name of Carnegie-nominated author Catherine Webb, who also writes under the ...

Julianne Pachico author pic Credit Nick Bradley edit

Julianne Pachico was born in Cambridge (U.K.) and grew up in Cali (Colombia). She is currently compl...


Max Porter c Lucy Dickens 2

Max Porter is Editorial Director of Granta and Portobello Books. His debut novel Grief is the Thing ...


Sally Rooney 1 CREDIT Jonny l Davies JPEG edit

Sally Rooney was born in 1991 in Castlebar, County Mayo. She holds degrees in English and American L...


Sara Taylor author pic edt

Sara Taylor grew up in Virginia and is currently completing a PhD in Creative Writing at the Univers...

Previous Next